Skip to content

Kids Say the Darndest Things, by Kitty Robertson Morse, Heirloom Wooden Toys

February 14, 2011

My delightful cousin Sherry posted the following story on Facebook:

“…had THAT omigod mortifying earth-please-swallow-me-now mommy moment today during a game of “What-Do-You-See” at Lucky’s … to the lady at the deli, I profusely apologize for my son’s enthusiastic observation within your earshot that you ‘have a red shirt and a fat belly and cool shoes.'”

Funny, right?  We’ve all been there, whether it’s a four letter word at the wrong time, or a comment about your bathroom habits that’s overheard.  But here’s the kicker:

“And it was totally innocent of him! Talking about it in the car later, he says, “but what wasn’t nice about that? It wasn’t mean. It doesn’t matter if her belly is big or small, just like why would it matter if my hair is light and Wyatt’s is dark? YOUUUU said everyone is different shapes and colors, so why does it matter??”

I love this because it makes it so clear (a) that our kids are listening and processing what we say ALL the time, (b) they are so smart, and (c) we parents really need to try to be our best selves as much as possible.  As my cousin says, “THIS KID.  Always making me think twice about how I say things to him because he seriously takes everything to a whole other level!” and of course she’s right.  And, as they get older, with guidance, they’ll begin to understand the subtleties of human interaction and hopefully filter what comes out of their mouths a bit.  Some of the time.

When stuff like this happens, write it down, because you’ll never remember all the crazy and wonderful things your kids say!

Happy Valentine’s Day from Heirloom Wooden Toys!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sherry Seat permalink
    March 1, 2011 12:53 am

    SO WELL PUT, Kitty!!!!!! He really does challenge me to make sure I “say what I mean and mean what I say!!” A good lesson for all parents! 🙂

Leave a Reply

