Skip to content

What Is an Heirloom? by Kitty Robertson Morse, Heirloom Wooden Toys

October 2, 2010

As the owner of Heirloom Wooden Toys, I’ve spent some time thinking about what we mean exactly by an “heirloom” toy.  The best example that comes to mind is the set of wooden blocks that my brother David and I played with as kids.  My parents didn’t have a lot of extra money, but they made sure that we had a great set of blocks.  We played with those blocks for hours, and in so many different ways.  They were castles, roads, farm fences, towers, and doll furniture; we used them with all our other toys as well as on their own.

kitty robertson morse, heirloom wooden toys, eco-friendly toys, green toys, sustainable toys, wooden toys, www.heirloomwoodentoys.com, wooden blocks, the learning tower, the kitchen helper, toys, heirloom toys, gift ideas, parenting, things to do with kids, great activities with kidsMy kids played with the blocks throughout their younger years.  They played with them the same way my brother and I did – however they wanted! They were train tracks, rocket ships, buildings.  Once I came home to find my dad had attached the long blocks to my son’s feet with duct tape and he was “skiing” across the carpet.

So what makes them heirloom toys?  They are exactly as good now as when they were new nearly 50 years ago.  There’s nothing to break, no marketing concept that seems out-of-date, no lost parts.  Kids understand what to do with them right away.  Kids can still play with them any way they want.  My kids had ideas that I never did, but the blocks suited them just as well.  And – I hope – the same blocks will inspire my grandchildren too!

As a retailer, I love when people buy new things for their children or grandchildren.  But I’m always so happy to hear of toys that are loved and cherished by more than one generation because then it’s so much more than a toy, it’s a way of sharing family memories and connections that enrich our lives in a really deep way.  Of course very few of the toys you buy for your children will last for generations, but I recommend you try to have one or two things that are special and worth keeping.  If you need ideas, give me a call!

If you are looking to buy a gift or toy for your child or grandchild, think of Heirloom Wooden Toys where we provide sustainable, safe wooden toys, games and furniture that will last for generations to come.  You can shop by Age, Price, Brand, or just browse hundreds of products for all kinds of kids.  Many of our products are Made in the USA so you can support businesses that are keeping jobs at home.  Looking for custom products?  We have a large selection of items that can be personalized or engraved with your name or message.  Free Shipping on orders over $99!  Contact Kitty Robertson Morse at kitty@heirloomwoodentoys.com or (866) 202-8073.

Comments are closed.